Shot of Beauty


Ten beauty essentials for £10 and under
January 17, 2013, 2:40 pm
Filed under: Accessories, Bath and body, Eyes, Hair, Lips, Nails, Skin care | Tags:

All this talk of Dry January is reminding me of my rather empty Fiorelli purse. Although this month is meant to be about new year, new me, it looks like I won’t be trying any new looks until Fab February, which is now in the not too distant future. Luckily, I can lean on my tenner-and-under beauty essentials until then. Here’s my top 10 lifesavers, in no chronological order. As always, I would love to know your favourite beauty essentials, so why not post a comment below and inspire me?

1/Garnier Simply Essentials 2-in-1 Make-up Remover

Removes all my make-up in a few sweeps. Trust me, I wear a lot of make up!

Removes all my make-up in a few sweeps. Trust me, I wear a lot of make up!


As most of my morning time is dedicated to making my face look shiny and new, I need to invest in a good face and eye make-up remover. This simple 2-in-1 formula, which doesn’t cause skin stripping, is great for removing bits of make-up from unwanted places in the morning, like my lips, the corners of my ears and my eyebrows. It is a dream to use in the evening; all I need is a 2 or 3 thick cotton pads and 5 minutes to shake and sweep the remover over my face. It takes off waterproof mascara pretty easily, but I have to say it does leave a bit of shine on my cheeks after, so I go over my whole face with a dry cotton pad to soak up some of the product left on my skin. As most of the make up removers I could find were advertised just for eye make-up removal, this simple product packs a punch by covering both bases for under £5. Result.

2/Herbal Essences Beautiful Ends Split End Protection Intensive Mask

Raspberry and silk extracts make my hair smell amazing. What's not to love?

Raspberry and silk extracts make my hair smell amazing. What’s not to love?

Truth be told, I love a good hair dye. Unfortunately, hair dye doesn’t love my hair, and I have been cursed with dry hair over the last couple of years, but it has got better thanks to my new best hair friend – the Split End Protection Intensive Mask from Herbal Essences’ Beautiful Ends range. Admittedly, this product doesn’t last me that long as I lather it on to my thick tresses in copious amounts, but it does a great job, leaving my hair smelling gorgeous and feeling soft and silky. I don’t stick around in the shower for long, and it’s just as well as the mask does its magic in 3-5 minutes. I really don’t think I could ask for much more from an intensive conditioner.

3/Barry M Metallic Liquid Eyeliner in Black

Jet black dream for my hazel peepers

Jet black dream for my hazel peepers

I know what you are thinking – Barry M?! Really?! My answer is a confident yes – of all the liquid eyeliners I have used, I found this brush to be the most steady with a good amount of product being applied on every sweep. Lasts me quite a while as well, which is always a bonus. They also do this in a cute pink shade which would tie in nicely with some ballerina nails and the general nude beauty trend we are seeing everywhere at the moment. Will be experimenting with navy and green shades this spring/summer.

4/Batiste Dry Shampoo in Coconut & Exotic

From the arctic to the Bahamas in a few sprays!

From the arctic to the Bahamas in a few sprays!

The question I keep asking myself this month is ‘why is it so god damn cold?’ I need all the exotic summery things I can get to put a smile on my face during the winter, whether that’s a desktop background of a beach in the Caribbean or a quick Rubicon Mango drink during my lunch break. But there is one staple that sees me through the cold days and lifts me with its fragrance, and that’s the wonder of Batiste dry shampoo. We all have days where we just need a touch up of yesterday’s hair to see us through – just make sure you don’t spray it directly on your roots to avoid chalk central. The tropical edition of Batiste is generally my favourite, but I am partial to a bit of the flirty one and also the Brit girl and leopard print design.

5/Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick in Ruby Tuesday

Ruby red = ready to dazzle

Ruby red = ready to dazzle

Some days, I channel Dita von Teese, and that’s all thanks to my Ruby Tuesday Max Factor lipstick. It’s not too dark, and not too light, so hits the swatch chart in the right place. Red lipstick is timeless; this one comes with me on the way to a meeting, to networking events, or during a night out on the town. Go easy on the eyes with this one and let the red speak for itself – a flick of black eyeliner will look marvellous with those siren lips.

6/Essie Nail Colour in Sand Tropez

Elegant and on-trend for Spring/Summer 2013

Elegant and on-trend for Spring/Summer 2013

Nude, nude and more nudes. Open any magazine this week and you are bound to see a few of these beauties floating around, whether its pinks, beiges or browns, Essie has it covered. Perfect for days at work and set off nicely with some gold jewellery, this one is a winner for just about every girl. Make sure the shade you pick matches the tone of your skin to look your best. If it wasn’t for my already overflowing collection of nail varnishes, I would build an Essie collection. Watch this space…

7/Models Own 5-piece Brush Set

Five power tools for the make-up bag

Five power tools for the make-up bag

My love for Models Own make-up brushes started when I got the lovely luminous orange powder brush for my foundation and bronzer – I loved it from the first use. And then I came across this 5-piece mini brush set for just £10, including tools for powder, lip liner, shading, blending and angling. Not only does it look good, the quality of the brushes is high too – what a bargain!

8/Lush Rub Rub Rub Shower Scrub

Rub-Rub-Rub-resized-bad-label

Yummy mimosa and citrus oils make this shower scrub even more gorgeous than its texture and blue shade. If you are looking for a serious scrubbing, apply it to dry skin and then get into the shower. Those looking for a gentle scrub should just use it as a shower gel under warm water. According to the back of the product, it leaves a lingering fragrance on the skin – I haven’t caught it myself but then again that might have something to do with the Soap & Glory sweet lime shower gel I use afterwards!

9/Body Shop Earth Lovers Pear & Lemongrass Shower Gel

So fresh, so clean

So fresh, so clean

When I was in Body Shop not too long ago, I got the chance to pick some freebies because of my loyalty card rewards. Searching the shelves for something strange and beautiful, I came across the Earth Lovers shower gel in Pear and Lemongrass and gave it a go. Gorgeous fragrance and something a bit different for those on a budget. Also a natural product for those who are keen to know what they are putting on their skin. It has a very thin consistency which means it flows fast and some may prefer a thicker consistency, but this is definitely worth a try if you are after something unusual.

10/Figs & Rouge Organic Coco Vanilla Balm

Fluffy white delight

Fluffy white delight

A glossybox from way back in 2012 introduced me to the wonderful Figs and Rouge collection of lip balms. The first thing that stood out to me with this product was its texture – it was very fluffy and white, and totally different to any other product out there. It feels a bit grainy on the first application, but smoothes out instantly on the lips and a small amount achieves a good effect. Soothes lips around the clock and smells delightful. I can’t wait to try the cherry one!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s really a great and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by skin care

We have very similar tastes! a lot of these products are my top ten too!xx

beaumaquillagex.blogspot.co.uk

Comment by Beaumaquillagex

Ooh this makes me happy – what are your faves from the list? I couldn’t live without all of them – would be so great if we could carry on the post and get lots of beauty bloggers to list their 10 essentials for 10 and under – you fancy the challenge? You will definitely have comment from me if that helps you decide 🙂

Comment by shotofbeauty




Leave a Reply

