Shot of Beauty


#findmeafoundation
January 22, 2013, 2:42 pm
Filed under: Face, Make-up, Skin care | Tags: , , , ,

Today is a very special day. It’s not my birthday, but it might as well be. That’s right, this snowy January day marks the beginning of my hunt for natasha’s next top foundation, and I’m the head judge. But I need your help to make the best decision on what product to award with a massive ‘buy me’ gold star, so I have detailed my shortlist below with pros and cons, and would love it if you could all vote for the one I should buy.

It’s ok to admit that nothing would make you feel better than doing a good beauty deed this early in the week.

Thanking you in advance…:)

1/Yves Saint Laurent Le Teint Touche Éclat Foundation, £28

yves

WHY? Everyone knows that the YSL Touche Éclat Complexion Highlighter is a staple product, so I have high expectations for the foundation and I always find YSL products to be high quality, which prompts me to try it. Also I am probably one of the minority who hasn’t yet tried it!

WHY NOT? My skin needs a lot of moisture, so I want to be sure this one will deliver. Also looks quite small in size for the price? I would ideally want a foundation to be long-lasting and allow for many applications, but not too sure this fits the bill? Would love to hear if any of you have tried it.

2/Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation, £34

giorgio

WHY? The product description for this offering by Giorgio Armani makes it clear that it is hydrating, oil-free formulation, which would work great on my combination skin.

WHY NOT? It’s a little pricey for 30ml, but I am willing to look at quality over quality when it comes to foundation.

3/Clinique Superbalanced Makeup, £21.50

clinique

WHY? Having tried Clinique products previously, I know that the brand is all about keeping the skin healthy and keeping looks natural. I think the Superbalanced Makeup Foundation would do wonders for my skin, keeping it under control where necessary. Good price.

WHY NOT? I usually go for a medium-heavy coverage, and I reckon this one is on the cusp of medium. Thoughts?

4/Laura Mercier Oil-free Supreme Foundation, £33

lauramercier

WHY? After hearing so many positive things about Laura Mercier foundations, I would love to try one. Oil-free, non-drying formulation makes it better.

WHY NOT? Again, a little pricey for 29ml.

5/Nars Sheer Matte Foundation, £29.50

nars

WHY? I love NARS’ blushers and eyeshadows, so I have a great impression of the brand. The idea of it being matte in effect draws my attention too, as my skin can be oily and it would be good to have a matte foundation with plenty of moisture underneath to prevent drying.

WHY NOT? The matte effect could potentially work against me, but it’s a risk you take when using a new brand.

22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

if you have dry skin defo go for the YSL its super moisturising the coverage is really sheer though

Comment by Not Just Inside

Thank you! That’s the thing I can see how the YSL is really moisturising but I might need to use a lot more than usual if I want medium coverage? I could build with powder?

Comment by shotofbeauty

Well I LOVE the YSL foundation so that would be my choice and finish it with a translucent powder if you get really oily x

Comment by Bettina

Thank you so much – I have seen the benefits of using a powder after foundation and it really works for me so could well do the trick with the YSL

Comment by shotofbeauty

this is so difficult. I want to try them ALL. I got a sample of Nars Sheer Glow at the weekend, I loved it this morning, not sure it’s moisturising enough for me. I’m 99% sure I’m going to go with the YSL… I love me a bit of YSL…!xx

Comment by Saskia

thanks lovely 🙂 hmmm I am thinking the same about NARS – have you seen the blushers though? they are gorge! AND have you seen the new Superdry beauty collection – OH MY GOD

Comment by shotofbeauty

I vote for Armani or Clinique

Comment by Lil F. (@lil_fairy_doll)

thank you! the armani is up there with my favourites but I must admit Clinique is probs better for my skin!

Comment by shotofbeauty

I haven’t personally tried any of these foundations (they’re a little out of my price range!) but I’ve heard good things about Clinique and Nars so I vote for one of those. 🙂
Ra ♥

Comment by rarareid

Thanks Ra! They are definitely a little pricey aren’t they! In terms of price i think clinique offers a good deal but perhaps nars is better in its quality? thanks so much x

Comment by shotofbeauty

I would either try… the Nars sheer glow which i am currently liking a lot or the georgio armani, i don’t know if i was having a bad skin day during YSL application but i didn’t get on with it as it didn’t give me the coverage i need!x

Comment by Robyn

Thanks Robyn! Yeah my mine concern is coverage as I need medium-heavy so this is my main bug bear with the YSL – what’s sheer glow like? Giorgio Armani is also a top choice

Comment by shotofbeauty

🙂 I would go with Laura Mercier Oil-free Supreme Foundation. its oil free and does absorb the natural moisture of your skin. Besides if you devide the price of it into 5-6 (depending how long you are normally using a fundation) it doesnt look that expensive anymore. you know you need a good canvas for a perfect look. 😉

Comment by luchessa

You’ve just made Laura Mercier a top runner! Thanks lovely – much appreciated! X

Comment by shotofbeauty

btw obviously i meant to say: does NOT absorb the natural moisture…but i guess my fingers have been faster than my mind 😉

Comment by luchessa

I use Dior Fusion makeup and Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua. I just fine these ones the most compatible with my skin. I have an oily t-zone so i’m very careful with the products i choose

Comment by Mirifique Beauty

I also have an oily T-zone and can get quite shiny during the day – do you use powder on top too to set it? Will check out the Chanel one as you are one of 2 people to recommend it!

Comment by shotofbeauty

I have the Clinique Moisturising Foundation – matches me perfectly and is lovely to try. If I were you, I would perhaps visit the different stands and explain you are looking for a foundation. Hopefully they should at least colour match and advise. No.7’s new foundation match service is excellent for shades and formulation.

Hope I helped,
Danniella x x x

Comment by Danniella Josephine

I think its best to talk to a few people and perhaps grab some samples too – its important to get the right shade as I have found some foundations rather yellow before – not a good look! Thanks for your help 🙂

Comment by shotofbeauty

I think either the Clinique or NARS, NARS foundations are supposed to be fantastic! And I have a few things from Clinique and thing their quality is outstanding 🙂 I know this isn’t on here but I have Chanel’s Vitalumiere Aqua and think it is fantastic! I do have oily skin but I know tonnes of people with dry skin who say this works really well for them!

Hope this helps lovely 🙂
xx

Comment by Beamaquillagex

Yay thanks so much – I love Chanel too – so will look into that one. I think Clinique foundations are good for your skin as they are quite a skin healthy brand – NARS i haven’t tried before but I really want to try their pop art products and fuschia blushers! Does help indeed x

Comment by shotofbeauty

The YSL is brilliant but as Not Just Inside said its quite sheer coverage. Have you tried Lancome Teinte Idole? The coverage is amazing and the bottle lasts ages.

Comment by anitajames (@anitabeautyblog)




Leave a Reply

